MainelyDesign.com Blog

Keep Old Settings When Upgrading Eclipse

Posted on 05/12/2009 at 01:02 pm by Kevin Wentworth
Viewed 7,994 times | 0 comments

I decided to upgrade my version of Eclipse to 3.4 (Ganymede) mainly so I could use the Git plugin.  I wanted to migrate my settings from one install to the other.  I know I had done this before, when I upgraded from 3.2 to 3.3, but forgot how.  So I don't have to scratch my head so much next time, here is how you can move your settings after you upgrade your version of Eclipse.

I'm using Windows XP.  Here's what I did:

  1. Go into your old version of Eclipse and do a File > Export
  2. Choose General > Settings
  3. Select All Settings and choose where to save the file
  4. Unzip the new distribution file (I use the PDT collection).  I also keep my old version of Eclipse, creating a new directory for the new version.
  5. After you load up the new version, go to File > Import
  6. Choose General > Settings
  7. Find the settings file you saved
  8. Exit eclipse
  9. Restart Eclipse - there you have it!

Cheers,

-Kevin Wentworth

Bookmark and Share

Tags for Keep Old Settings When Upgrading Eclipse

Web Programming | Upgrade | Git | Software

Comments for this Posting

No comments. Be the first to post a reply.

Sorry, comments are closed for this posting.

Please Email Kevin if you have any questions. Thanks!

Meet Site Avenger - Hosted Content Management System

Powered By: Site Avenger | Site Production: Saco Design